All Things New

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death will not exist any more—or mourning, or crying, or pain, for the former things have ceased to exist.”

And the one seated on the throne said: “Look! I am making all things new!”

As I drove to work today, this phrase “Behold (or Look) I am making all things new!” became a mantra as it floated around my head.  If we read earlier in that passage in Revelation 21, we see the death of old things– old heaven and old earth.  God had stripped away all that was and all was found in Him.  He was still there, creating, in the midst of destruction.

As parts of my life have been destroyed over the last few weeks, I have felt that destructive power in my life.  I have felt the brokenness in my life.  I have felt wounds long buried surface to actually be healed.  I have felt death, and I welcomed it through tears.

What I didn’t feel was the meta-picture, that God was creating in using these broken and destroyed pieces.  That out of darkness and chaos, something new was being formed.  I’m still in that formation process.  God is still creating.  The purgatorial fire is still on me.

But I can hang on to his promise that this ‘new creation’ will be good.  That this new creation will be beautiful.  And that somehow in the midst of destruction and chaos, He is forming something that can show His glory.

Leave a Reply

