Another Step

As I make my slow pilgrimage through the world, a certain sense of beautiful mystery seems to gather and grow.

AC Benson

This week I take another step in my pilgrimage, one that I have waited and prayed and thought about for 10 years.  This week, I begin seminary.  I start my classes at Spring Hill College in pursuit of my Masters in Theological Studies this week.  Was this how I always planned seminary looking?  To be honest, no.  I always pictured campus life surrounded by chapel bells, cassocked friends, and incense galore.  What I get now is Disney Channel, diapered children running around, and the smell of food and kids combined.  I will never argue that distance learning for seminary formation is ideal.  I know it is not.  However, I will say that the immersion in the study of theology with what is the everyday messiness of life outside of the cloistered reality of some seminaries brings a unique perspective of earthiness to the formation of the student.  I am looking forward to the next few years of study and formation.  I pray that God continues to guide my steps as I grow in the Faith of His Church and as I perform this balancing act of school, work, and home life.

St. Thomas Aquinas, ora pro nobis.

Jesu Mercy.  Mary pray.

Leave a Reply

